SPS Members—Call for Nominations!


Dear SPS Member,

The Safety Pharmacology Society invites your nominations of individuals to serve in the leadership of the Society. The elected terms will commence on January 1, 2016. 

The open positions for the 2016 election are:  

  • Vice President-Elect is a 4-year commitment which automatically progresses through the positions of Vice President, President and Past President. In addition, the Vice President-Elect serves as the Chair of the Abstract Committee, and as Vice President serves as the Chair of the Program Committee for the year that they hold those positions. It is preferred that one has previous experience on the board prior to nomination as part of the presidential chain in the society.  
  • Secretary-Elect is a 1-year commitment followed by a 2-year commitment as Secretary.
  • Board of Director Member is a 2-year commitment (4 positions open for nomination).
  • Nominating Committee is a 1-year commitment (4 positions open for nomination).

Each candidate nominated should be a current member of the Society. 

To make a nomination, a CV and a single paragraph statement of the vision for the future of the society should be sent to the committee. Members may submit multiple nominations for consideration by the Nominating Committee and are encouraged to nominate themselves.  It is the nominator’s responsibility to obtain permission from the nominee and agreement to serve if elected.

Please send your nominations to Krystle Correll or SPS Headquarters by 5:00 PM (EDT), Friday, May 1, 2015. 

The Nominating Committee will compile the final slate for the 2016 ballot. Ballots will be sent to members in good standing in July 2015.    

The responsibilities of the SPS leadership roles are described in the Safety Pharmacology Society By-Laws.  

Thank you for your continued interest and support of the Safety Pharmacology Society, and we look forward to seeing you at our next annual meeting in Prague, Czech Republic, September 28-October 1, 2015.  To register for the meeting or to learn more about the scientific program please visit 2015 Annual Meeting Website

Best regards,

Derek J. Leishman, PhD, DSP
Chair, SPS Nominating Committee

Recent Stories
Help determine future SPS Training & Education Opportunities!

These Savings Won't Last: Early Bird Registration ends July 15!

Abstract and Awards Extension: Two More Weeks to Submit!